Poem: What a Good Mother I’d Make (By: Hanoof Sayeed)

What good a mother I’d make

If my kids are scared of the things

That worry me today
Will they end up like me limiting their portions?

And starving themselves with a false notion
Will they too carry the burden of body shame?

Having weighed a bit on their scale
Will they sometimes throw up their food?

Working out till they’re left blue

Will they cover up their heartfelt laugh?

for their cheeks to squeeze into that photograph?
Would they want to slice off their skin?

before reflective showers wishing they were thin?
Will they count their calories before they eat?

Will they tuck in their lives before they breathe?

And what have I to give

If not the wisdom

Of fail diet regimes

And the tale of progress

That I sweat to seek
When to eat what I love

I would digest with no guilt

And to embrace my body

I wouldn’t have to kill it

Featured Image Credit: (Tumblr.com Photo)