Restaurant Review: Casa de Goa (By: Badria Nassir)

After a long Saturday morning of running errands with my mother, we decided that we were too tired to cook lunch once we got home and so decided to eat out.

Whenever making a decision about what cuisine we feel like eating is difficult, we always come to our go-to conclusion which is Indian food. My family is so obsessed with Indian food, in fact, my whole country is fascinated by Indian food that some of our dishes even incorporate Indian recipes.

After a long analysis of the different restaurants we could go to, we decided to head to Casa de Goa as it was one of the restaurants that none of us have been to before.

Casa de Goa, which is located in a hotel in Bur Dubai, was pretty quiet when we arrived at around 1PM, actually we were the only customers there at the time which I thought was better because we would be getting attended to much quicker.

The decoration in the restaurant was lovely; the walls were painted a beach-like scenery and it really made you feel like you were having a meal in a restaurant by the beach in Goa.

casa-de-goa-restaurant
Casa de Goa interior (TripAdvisor.com Photo)

When we sat down at a table, the waiter told us something that made my mum and I the happiest people alive; the restaurant had a lunch deal.

For AED 35, we get a 3 course lunch deal plus one drink… I mean life can’t get any better than that, right?

For my starters I ordered vegetable spring rolls while my mother ordered a hot plate of chicken lollipops which we shared between us. I’m not entirely sure why I ordered something as generic as spring rolls especially vegetarian spring rolls but it was actually pretty good. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the chicken lollipops but I’m supposing my mum was because she finished the entire plate in under 5 minutes.

As for our main courses, I ordered a chicken xacuti curry with rice while my mother ordered the exact same but fish. Since I’m allergic to seafood, I decided to avoid trying hers which served me as well since she told me that it was insanely spicy.

I had asked the waiter to make my curry less spicy but I was expecting it to be like my experience in Chef Lanka where “no chili please” was still incredibly spicy, but it actually wasn’t so bad. It was still spicy but it was tolerable, although towards the end I was starting to get the effects of the built up chili. The curry was delicious, definitely very flavourful. I would definitely recommend trying the chicken xacuti curry.

chicken-xacuti.jpg
Chicken Xacuti Curry (CookTube.in Photo)

Lastly for dessert, I kept it simple by ordering a bowl of vanilla ice cream to sooth my burning tongue which earned me a “I think you’re adopted” from my mum since I was the only one who could not handle the spice, sigh.

It was an enjoyable experience though. The waiters were down-to-earth, making conversation with us whenever they can and the food was incredible. Do visit and take advantage of their lunch deal one day.

Featured Image Credit: (KTB.ae Photo)

Rainy with a Chance of Sunlight: The Editor Message (By: Maha Jammoul)

How is everyone finding the weather today? We’ve been having a rather chilly and gloomy atmosphere lately; just the perfect setting for ‘cozying’ up in our homes while indulging in a cup of hot chocolate! I’m not sure about you but I’m certainly loving it (except for the part where I have to drive in slippery and wet roads and not to mention, walking to and from the parking area amidst the heavy rain).

My favorite part about all this is the fact that we know the sun will shine once again after we get drenched in the heavy pouring rain. It’s already set and wired in our heads that this, too, shall pass and the lovely sunlight will get to catch a glimpse of our world right after. The same is true with our lives; it’s only a matter of time until a rainy season or a stormy weather passes away. We’re bound to get our sunlight thereafter; we just have to patient and faithful.

This week, with the aim of keeping you cozy in this lovely weather, we have prepared the following line-up for you:

Hungry and craving for a delightful meal? Check out our review on Casa de Goa this Monday! You can always order a takeout so don’t worry about the weather!

146599_14082512270021531445.jpg
Casa de Goa (HotelBK.com Photo)

Tuesday, as usual, will see us setting our eyes on the sky with our Aviation Article of the Week on the QueSST Concept.

On Wednesday, we tune into our geeky side as we review Google Pixel XL in our Tech Review of the Week.

1042016102515PM_635_google_pixel_xl.jpeg
Google Pixel XL (Drop.NDTV.com Photo)

Thursday is about to cozier with our Movie Review of the Week on Manchester By The Sea. Get those blankets, pillows, and hot drinks prepared!

2016-11-12-1478968630-1457362-manchester2674x491.jpg
Manchester By The Sea (TheHuffingtonPost.com Photo)

Finally, Friday will see us delving into our creative side with our take on PTSD in this week’s Creative Feature.

ptsd-is-this                                                                    PTSD (ptsdchat.org)

Notwithstanding the above mentioned, I wish you all a warm and cozy week ahead! Enjoy this weather while it lasts!

Kind regards,
Maha Jammoul
Editor-In-Chief
EYAS

(Featured Image Credit: Imgrum.com Photo)