Restaurant Review: SALT (By: Badria Nassir)

I didn’t want to go to SALT. I really, really did not want to go to SALT. I made sure to make that very clear but that went in one ear and out the other for my friend. It’s as if my opinions did not matter to her when I told her that I wasn’t interested in going to SALT. She just threw some obscene words at me and stuffed me in the car to head towards Kite Beach in Umm Suqeim. I don’t actually have an issue with the restaurant, the reason I don’t want to go is because I personally find it overrated and I always lose interest in places that everyone wants to go to. That’s just me, though.

After 5 minutes of negotiation, I finally agreed to eat at SALT with an open mind provided she pay for it.

Once we got to the “food truck” all I could think was why it was considered as so because I personally think food trucks should be mobile rather than situated in one place and opening branches in other places but hey ho. I told myself to stop being a hater and hold my part of the bargain but that soon went down the drain when I saw the insanely long queue.

SALT (tripadvisor.co.uk Photo)

“Oh well, we tried,” I said and attempted to walk away but she pulled me by the hood and made me stand in line while reminding me of our terms.

When we finally got to the front, she ordered Original single sliders for me. I noticed she didn’t order for herself to which she said she’s keeping space for the best part of SALT.

Not gonna lie to you, the sliders weren’t bad. They were actually pretty good and flavourful. Definitely better than Slider Station’s both taste wise and price wise. While I got one slider for AED 30 in Slider Station, I got 2 sliders for AED 30 in SALT.

Slider (zomato.com Photo)

Once I was done with the sliders, my friend pulled me up and dragged me to the dessert and drink part of the truck f0r the “best part”. Thankfully that line was much shorter and once we got to the front, she ordered a Lotus Softie for me and a Lotus Shake for herself.

Because I’m a huge lotus fan, I was definitely excited to try this dessert. I was a little disappointed when I saw the size of the Softie which was priced at AED 20. It was smaller than the Sundae from McDonald’s… The Softie actually just ended up being vanilla ice cream with lotus biscuits and lotus syrup. It was delectable and really satisfying to the taste buds but I wouldn’t pay AED 20 for it, unfortunately.

Lotus softie (pinterest.com Photo)

Overall, it was not a bad experience. The burgers were tasty and I actually really like how they set up the place so I even might just consider going back.

Featured Image Credit: (kennethsurat.com Photo)

Fruitful Outcomes: The Editor’s Message (By: Maha Jammoul)

How’s university treating you thus far? I hope all is well with all of our readers! As exams are approaching for some of us, it may be beneficial to bear in mind that upcoming exams and new endeavors provide us with fresh opportunities to have better beginnings that will hopefully amount to fruitful results.

This week, we have the following lined-up for you:

Monday will delight the foodie in your with our Restaurant Review of the Week on SALT.

SALT (acmelabs.biz Photo)

Tuesday will see us soaring with our Aviation Article of the Week on the recent SpaceX launch.

SpaceX launch (uaetoday.com Photo)

Wednesday is all about games as we review ‘The Governer of Poker 3’ .

Governor of Poker 3 logo (steampowered.com Photo)

Thursday will see us reviewing ‘The Lego Batman’ in our Movie Review of the Week. You don’t want to miss this!

The Lego Batman poster (comingsoon.net Photo)

Finally, on Friday, we’ll be delving into our creative sides as we talk about ‘The Fruitful Outcomes’ in our Creative Writing Feature of the Week.

Outcomes (blackjack0919.deviantart.com Photo)

Notwithstanding the above-mentioned, I wish you all a lovely and productive week ahead!

Kind regards,

Maha Jammoul

Editor-in-Chief

EYAS

(Featured Image Credit: CombiBoilerSleeds.com Photo)